Welcome Guest, posting in this forum require registration.
RSS Feed MembersSearch
Pages: 1
Attacker Wins an Assault vs Opportunistic Fire
Opportunity fire after an assault Posted on [14/07/2020] à 19:40

Hi,

Tonight faced this,

A UK unit declared assault to a German enemy unit, which also blocks a German unit in opportunity fire position behind him.

After beating the assaulted German unit and eliminated it the UK unit took its position and now is unblocked by the Op fire. Does the second German Op unit takes the chance to fire to UK unit due to the forced movement after the battle?

Tried were as clear as I could.,


Opportunity fire after an assault Posted on [14/07/2020] à 22:44

All rules quotes are from the HoS rulebook, being the most recent and refined version of the V2.0 core rules. I will emphasize particularly important passages in Red.


Opportunistic Fire (p. 17)

During (and only during) the Activation Phase, a non-activated unit can take a Firing Action against an enemy unit after that enemy unit's Firing Action.

It can also take this Firing Action at any time during the Movement Action of an enemy unit.


It is unclear if an Assault is part of a Move action, since it is defined with its own mechanics. An Assault is declared before a move it made, but the actual assault (mechanically speaking) occurs from the adjacent square. the attacking unit is moved half-way onto the square of the defender, although it counts as being in its original square for purposes of any game effects.


Something that is going to become relevant is the term Forced Move.


Forced Moves (p. 6)

Some situations or Action Cards can force a unit to move. This is called a Forced Move.

Unlike normal movement, Forced Moves do not trigger special actions that are related to movement, such as Opportunity Fire (see p. 17).

If a unit with the Active Side up (see “Changes of State,” p. 15) is forced to move, it is flipped to the Inactive Side first. If a unit is forced to move off the board or into an Impassable Terrain Element, the unit is Destroyed (see p. 11).


Assault rules, p. 18)

In order to symbolise an on-going assault, put the attacking counter partly on the defending counter.

This will also enable you to recall which square the attacking unit is assaulting from. Until the assault is resolved, the attacking unit is considered as being in the square from which it launched the assault.


In the section on what happens when the Attacker wins, it is stated:


(p. 19)

After the defender has been eliminated or has retreated (Forced Move), the attacking unit must take its place if the square can still be entered, if not the attacking unit must stay in the square from which it launched the assault.


In fact, any retreat (either for the Attacker if they lose, or the Defender if they lose) are all considered forced moves:


The attacking unit returns to the square it launched the assault from, this is a Forced Move.


The unit must immediately fall back to one of the three squares opposite the attacker.

This retreat is a Forced Move and is therefore not considered a Movement Action.


Unfortunately, that does not clarify much if the Attacker taking the Defender's place actually is a movement action. We can definitely say that it is not a Forced Move, but the fact that any other extra movement IS called a Forced Move would otherwise lead me to understand the Attacking unit was already "in" the defenders space if not for the fact that the Attacker counts as being in its starting space for purposes of terrain effects, etc.


Thankfully, I have a clarification on this subject from Clem during the work on the HoS rules. Apparently we did not clarify this ENOUGH, but we do know the intent:


Clem (from an email on June 18, 2018)

The main idea is: The attacking unit moves into the square but doesn’t enter it until the assault is resolved. This is an attempt to move into the square occupied by the opponent unit. The assault resolution is a pause to resolve if this attempt is successful or not. So the defending unit gets the defensive bonus. It is important that the unit moves into the square before the assault to trigger op’ fires, and other special abilities.


So, the reason that the Attacker's final placement in the target square is not called out as a Move action is because the Move already happened, but the Assault still needs to be resolved to see if the Attacker stays or not.


So, at the moment the move happened, the friendly unit blocked LoS from the unit wanting to use OpFire.


Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

Opportunity fire after an assault Posted on [16/07/2020] à 13:02

Nostradunwhich…. catch it.

Thanks


Attacker Wins an Assault vs Opportunistic Fire Posted on [18/07/2020] à 21:19

On the other hand, according to your thought, tonight I met this also.


A unit decided to assault an enemy unit in a building from the adjacent square. An Op unit fires to the assaulted unit, on its move from its square to the one building square where the hth combat is going to be resolved.

Does the attacker assaulted unit gains the defencive terrain bonus (building), being already inside, against the Op fire?


Attacker Wins an Assault vs Opportunistic Fire Posted on [19/07/2020] à 03:01

Quote from Mark75 on [18/07/2020] à 21:19

Does the attacker assaulted unit gains the defencive terrain bonus (building), being already inside, against the Op fire?


I already mentioned this…


Quote from Nostradunwhich on [14/07/2020] à 22:44


Assault rules, p. 18)

In order to symbolise an on-going assault, put the attacking counter partly on the defending counter.

This will also enable you to recall which square the attacking unit is assaulting from. Until the assault is resolved, the attacking unit is considered as being in the square from which it launched the assault.



Volunteer Moderator of the English Language Forums
Remember: If you are not willing to shell your own position you are not willing to win!

Attacker Wins an Assault vs Opportunistic Fire Posted on [19/07/2020] à 11:02

Nostradunwhich,

Forgive my carelessness, pal.

There are so many "thin" points you have to take care, at the end something always gets away.

Cheers


Pages: 1